Heart of Health Care Award

(Previously the Health Care Worker of the Year Award)

Purpose of the Award

The Heart of Health Care Award (previously the Health Care Worker of the Year) recognizes and honors excellence in health care employees statewide. All nominated employees (one from every hospital) will be recognized by KHA for making a significant contribution to the betterment of their hospital. Any type of employee can be nominated. They can be a tenured employee with years of service or a newer staff member. New this year, there will be additional recognition as a Rising Star if your nominee has been in health care (or employed in your hospital) for less than five years. 


Each hospital is asked to nominate ONE (1) individual. Health systems may make ONE (1) nomination on behalf of each of their hospitals, or select ONE (1) nominee to represent the entire system, but are encouraged to designate the hospitals in which the nominee primarily works.

Eligible individuals must be current employees of a Kansas Hospital Association member hospital. Nominees should demonstrate the following characteristics: leadership, teamwork, dedication and perseverance. The employee should be a role model for other staff and their work should reflect the values and mission of the hospital.

Key Dates

April – Call for nominations
June 1 – Nominations are due
June – Nominations reviewed by the committee
July – Recommendation presented to the Executive Committee for approval.
September – Awardee(s) honored at KHA Annual Convention.

Materials to Be Submitted:

All Nominations Must Be Submitted Electronically

Questions on the online nomination form:

1. How the nominee goes beyond the call of duty, is a great leader and/or a role model for other staff. (250 words or less)
2. How does the nominee show compassion, empathy and respect to patients, visitors and staff. How does the nominee promote an environment of cooperation and collaboration? (250 words or less)
3. Significant contribution(s) the nominee has made that benefited or improved the hospital. Other activities or reasons why this nominee should be considered, such as how the nominee gives back to the community and/or has overcome odds to succeed. (250 words or less)
We would suggest filling out answers to these questions in advance and then pasting them into the online form. If you have any difficulty with the online form, contact Jan Fenwick at jfenwick@kha-net.org.

Award Presentation and Recognition

Selected nominees awarded the Heart of Health Care Award will be honored by: Receipt of the Heart of Health Care Award and receive $500 in cash. Award recipients will be recognized during the KHA Awards Luncheon, Sept. 5, 2024 at the Sheraton Overland Park/Overland Park Convention Center, Overland Park, Kansas, on KHA's website and in a KHA press release.