KHIMA - Kansas Health Information Management Association
Print this page.Print

Kansas Health Information Management Association

The Kansas Health Information Management Association, founded in 1947, was organized for individuals working with patient information in health care related organizations. KHIMA is a component state association of the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). Health information managers play a major role in making our health care system work. They collect, maintain and analyze the data health care providers rely on to deliver quality health care. They are experts in managing health information and medical records, administering computer information systems and coding the diagnoses and procedures for health care services provided to patients. The resulting data is vital to patient care, reimbursement, research, planning, accreditation, continuous quality improvement and liability protection.  

KHIMA offers educational opportunities at its annual spring and fall workshops and provides other specialty training throughout the year. KHIMA, along with AHIMA, have ongoing member communication via their Web sites, and, and online news briefings. KHIMA is actively involved in recruitment and retention activities for members and students and maintains liaison relationships with other health-related organizations and governmental agencies.

For membership information, go to the AHIMA website.  Once you are a member with AHIMA, you automatically become a member with KHIMA.

Currently, KHIMA has more than 900 members. To learn more about KHIMA, go to their Web site at or contact: Ann Nowlin, KHIMA office coordinator, at (785) 221-3146. Sally Othmer also is available for questions at (785) 233-7436.


Upcoming KHIMA Events

April 22-24, 2020 - KHIMA & MOHIMA Joint 2020 Annual Meeting
20/20 Vision: Looking to the Future of HIM
DoubleTree by Hilton, Overland Park, KS


July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020
KHIMA Leadership Board

Taryn Schraad - President/Delegate
Deloris Farthing - President-Elect/Delegate
Richard Ryan
- Past President/Delegate
Stephanie Costello - Secretary/Treasurer
Alicia Kellogg - 2nd Year Director/Delegate
Donna Fletcher - 1st Year Director
Jaime Richling - Delegate

KHIMA Committee Chairs

Julie Engelland - Coding
Alicia Kellogg - Coding
Korianne Kaleikini - Communications & Marketing
Trucia Putney - Communications & Marketing
OPEN - Education
OPEN - Information Integrity
Richard Ryan - Nominating
Elizabeth Goetz - Annual Meeting
Sarah Hurla - Annual Meeting
Jennifer Smith - Recognition
Brittany Hernandez - Student Representative
Shelly Davis - Succession Plan
Lorie Eyler - Succession Plan
Ann Nowlin - Office Coordinator
Sally Othmer - KHA Liaison


Related Links and Downloads