Trustee of the Year Award

Purpose of the Award

The Trustee of the Year Award recognizes and honors hospitals board members who are leaders, give back to the community and routinely go beyond the call of duty. KHA members are encouraged to recognize those trustees who have served with distinction and made significant contributions to the betterment of their hospital and community. The Trustee of the Year Award was established by the Kansas Hospital Association Board in 2013. The award recognizes hospital trustees who provide an exemplary contribution through their leadership and governance.


The nominee must be an active member of a hospital board that holds current membership in the Kansas Hospital Association. The nominee must have completed their self-evaluation in the KHA Trustee Recognition and Accountability Program. Nominees should demonstrate the following characteristics: Leadership: demonstrates leadership or involvement in the field of hospital governance. Commitment: contributes both time and talent to bettering the hospital and other health care services in the community. Advocacy: increases public attention to the health care needs of the community and has created public concern for meeting those needs. Impact: analyzes issues, defines problems and brings issues to a successful conclusion.

Award Presentation and Recognition

Since we are unable to meet in September at our annual convention, Trustees of the Year will be recognized virtually and at their hospitals.They will be highlighted in a media release, KHA newsletters and on the website. The Trustee(s) of the Year will receive a $500 donation to their hospital foundation (charitable giving) on their behalf. They will be given the Trustee of the Year Award and a complimentary registration to the KHA Annual Convention and Award’s Luncheon.

2020 Trustee of the Year Nominees

Barbara Cusick     Dwight Faulkner     Michael Hagley MD
Barbara Cusick
Shawnee Mission

 Dwight Faulkner
Wamego Health

 Michael Hagley, MD
Hutchinson Regional 
Medical Center
Joanne Hurst Stan Kats
Greg Schreiner
Joanne Hurst
LMH Health

 Stanley Kats
Phillips County
Medical Clinic
 Greg Schreiner
Kingman Community

Click here to View Previous Trustee of the Year Awardees