About KHA

+ SHARE

About KHA

KHA is a voluntary non-profit organization existing to provide leadership and services to our members. KHA is the lead organization in a group of companies and affiliates that provide a wide array of services to the hospitals of Kansas and the Midwest region. 

 

HA Today

KHA Vision: Optimal Health for Kansans. KHA Mission: To be the leading advocate and resource for members.

HA History
Dr. John Axtell, a surgeon in Newton, Kansas, led the charge in 1910 to develop an organization of hospitals to “promote the efficiency and economy in the management of hospitals in Kansas.”
HA Members

KHA's membership includes 126 community hospitals, 14 systems, nine health care organizations, three health insurance companies, 43 associate members and 16 networks.

HA Sponsors
Thank you to our KHA diamond, platinum, gold and silver sponsors. KHA sponsorships help our association grow in members, grow our educational offering and increase value.
HA Employment Opportunities
KHA is located in Topeka, KS, just blocks from the state Capitol. Topeka offers excellent family, professional, educational, outdoor and cultural opportunities. KHA, and our affiliates, employ about 25 people.
HA-PAC
State and federal governments pay for well over half of Kansas hospital care and regulate 100 percent of our activities. That is why the work of the KHA-PAC, is so important.
HERF Foundation
Kansas Hospital Education and Research Foundation ... facilitating community-based health solutions that work. KHERF, a not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization, was formed in 1969.
HSC
The Kansas Health Service Corporation is a for-profit subsidiary of KHA and provides needed products and services to members. KHA Workers’ Compensation Fund, Inc is a taxable workers’ compensation pool operated by KHSC.
PS
APS is a for-profit group purchasing company organized in the state of Kansas. It is a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Health Alliance of MidAmerica, LLC.
HC
KHA and KMS founded the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative in 2008. This provider-led organization is dedicated to transforming health care through patient-centered initiatives that improve quality, safety and value.
HA Governance
KHA is governed by a Board of Directors. KHA members guide the association's work through input on KHA councils, technical advisory groups, task forces, policy groups and during Spring and Fall district meetings.
HA Awards
The Kansas Hospital Association Awards Program offers KHA members the opportunity to honor individuals or groups that are making a positive difference for Kansas hospitals.
HA Staff Listing
Staff photos and contact information for: Kansas Hospital Association, Kansas Health Service Corporation, Associated Purchasing Services and Kansas City Metropolitan Healthcare Council staff.
ontact KHA
Questions...contact a member of the Kansas Hospital Association. Click here or go to the KHA Staff Listing section for photos, phone numbers and e-mail addresses.

For more information on this board meeting, contact Melissa Hungerford (mhungerford@kha-net.org) or Susan Cunningham (scunningham@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information on this program, contact the KHA Education Department at (785) 233-7436.
For more information on the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) or Vicky Nelson (vnelson@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information on the KHA Board Retreat, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436.
For more information or to participate, contact Jan Fenwick at jfenwick@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436.