Finances and Coverage
Print

FINANCE TRENDS | 2008-2012 Kansas Community Hospitals
In 2012, hospital revenues showed minimal growth while unsponsored care grew to over one billion.

  Download report.

  Finance Trends 20082012

*Unsponsored Care = Bad debt + charity care.
NOTE : Numbers may not add to totals because of rounding. Includes hospital-owned acute care and nursing home data.

SOURCE: Kansas Hospital Association, American Hospital Association Annual Survey (collected January 2013)


NON-REINMBURSED CARE IN KANSAS COMMUNITY HOSPITALS | 2007-2012

The amount of non-reimbursed care continues to increase in community hospitals. Non-reimbursed care is the difference between gross patient revenue (the amount of billed charges) and net patient revenue (the amount of payment received). In 2012, the amount of non-reimbursed care rose to $13 billion. Both gross patient and net patient revenue increased. Since 2007 gross patient revenue has increased  21 percent. Meanwhile, net patient revenue has only increased about 17 percent during that same time period.   NonReimbursed Graph 20072012   
    NonReimbursed Care 20082012

 

 

THE NATION'S HEALTH DOLLAR | 2011

 Nations Health Dollar 11 

Out of Pocket includes co-payments, deductibles, and any amounts not covered by health insurance.
Other Third Parties Payees and Programs includes worksite health care, other private revenues, Indian Health Service, workers’ compensation, general assistance, maternal and child health, vocational rehabilitation. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, school health, and other federal and state local programs.
Investments includes Research (2%) and Structures and Equipment (4%)
NOTE: Sum of pieces may not equal 100% due to rounding.
SOURCE: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Office of the Actuary, National Health Statistics Group.

.

 

HOSPITAL CARE EXPENDITURES PER CAPITA AMOUNTS | 2011 - 2017

 Per Capita Amts 20112017

*Includes Medicaid SCHIP Expansion and SCHIP.

NOTE: Per capita amounts based on July 1 Census resident based population estimates. Numbers and percents may not add to totals because of rounding. The health spending projections were based on the 2008 version of the National Health Expenditures (NHE) relased in January 2010.

SOURCE: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Office of the Actuary, November 2013

 

*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.