

MEDIA RELEASE

For further information: Contact - Cindy Samuelson Mobile - (785) 249-1727 csamuelson@kha-net.org

Exemplary Trustees Recognized by Kansas Hospitals

(Sept. 23, 2021) – It is with pleasure that the Kansas Hospital Association recognizes hospital trustees who provide an exemplary contribution through their leadership and governance. Hospitals across the state nominated individuals for the Trustee of the Year Award because they routinely went above and beyond the call of duty. Nine trustees from hospitals and health systems across Kansas were nominated as Trustees of the Year:

- Joe Barnes, Smith County Memorial Hospital, Smith Center
- Matt Floersch, Ascension Via Christi Hospital Manhattan, Inc., Manhattan
- Michael Flores, Ascension Via Christi Hospitals Wichita, Inc., Wichita
- Willis Heck, NMC Health, Newton
- Phil Jarred, Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center, Chanute
- Jesse Luckie, Ashland Health Center, Ashland
- Jim Parrish, Stormont Vail Health, Topeka
- Judith Reynolds, Rush County Memorial Hospital, La Crosse
- Jessie Wyrill, Phillips County Health Systems, Phillipsburg

Based on the recommendation from a committee of KHA member CEOs and hospital trustees, the KHA Board of Directors selected Willis Heck, board chair at NMC Health, Newton, as the 2021 Trustee of the Year. He will be recognized during the KHA Awards Ceremony on Oct. 27. A donation will be given to the NMC Health Initiatives Fund in his honor.

The Kansas Hospital Association is a voluntary, non-profit organization existing to be the leading advocate and resource for members. KHA membership includes 232 member facilities, of which 123 are full-service, community hospitals. Founded in 1910, KHA's vision is Optimal Health for Kansans.