Current Report Articles
President's Perspective – Gearing Up to Recognize Kansas Hospital Employees

Recognition2 (May 7, 2021) – The Kansas Hospital Association is looking forward to celebrating members during National Hospital Week, as well as during this year's awards ceremony at the KHA Annual Convention. Both events provide an opportunity to highlight hospitals, health systems and health care workers, as well as the innovative ways they are supporting the needs of their communities.

Celebrated the first full week in May since 1921, National Hospital Week is a time dedicated to reinforcing to our communities the valuable contributions hospitals make in caring for them 24-hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. Next week, KHA will share special messages in emails to members and on social media. Watch for something every day as we join you in celebrating National Hospital Week.

I also want to take this opportunity to remind members to nominate individuals for a KHA award.

The Charles S. Billings Award is the top honor given by KHA. The award recognizes a hospital leader for his or her lifetime of service and continuing contribution to the health care of Kansas. This award was established in 1971 to honor Charles Billings' dedication and years of service to Kansans. 
Online nomination form.

The Distinguished Health Care Advocate Award honors individuals, organizations or groups who have provided an exemplary contribution to the health and well-being of the people of Kansas through their leadership in the political or policy arena. This awards members of KHA the opportunity to recognize those who work on our behalf from outside the ranks.
Online nomination form.

The Donald A. Wilson Visionary Award recognizes hospital-related individuals who have made an outstanding, innovative contribution to health care delivery, health care financing or initiatives improving the health and clinical outcomes of their community. This award was established in 2007 to honor Wilson's dedication and years of service to Kansans.
Online nomination form.

The Trustee of the Year Award honors a hospital board member who is a leader, gives back to the community and routinely goes beyond the call of duty. KHA members are encouraged to recognize a trustee who has served with distinction and made significant contributions to the betterment of their hospital and community.
Online nomination form.

The Health Care Worker of the Year Award recognizes and honors the excellence of health care workers statewide. All nominated employees (one from each member hospital) will be recognized by KHA for making a significant contribution to the betterment of their hospital.
Online nomination form.

We know many individuals are instrumental in making a difference for hospitals in Kansas and the health care they provide to communities. Thank you for help to identify those individuals deserving of recognition. Please make your online nominations by June 1. And, let me wish you an early Happy Hospital Week. We appreciate everything you and your teams have done during the past year.  
--Chad Austin