Trustees Newsletter Articles


Trustees Newsletter Articles
Davidson Award Represents Kansas Hospitals' Commitment to Quality

KSCeremony On July 17, the Kansas Hospital Association was recognized by the American Hospital Association as one of three U.S. state hospital associations for leadership and innovation in quality improvement and safety. The Maryland Hospital Association was the 2016 recipient of the Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award for Allied Association Leadership, and the Ohio Hospital Association and KHA were selected as honorable mentions for the 2016 award.

The Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award for Allied Association Leadership is presented to hospital associations which, through programs and activities, demonstrate exceptional organizational leadership and innovation in quality improvement and have made significant contributions to the measurable improvement of quality within its geographic area.

The goals of this award are to:

  • Recognize outstanding efforts among allied hospital associations to improve quality;
  • Encourage allied hospital associations to play key roles in raising the level of hospital and health system performance to achieve care that is safe, timely, effective, equitable, efficient and patient-centered; and
  • Spread the learning and progress toward national health care improvement that are being promoted by allied hospital associations.

The award is named after AHA President Emeritus Dick Davidson, who strongly promoted the role of hospital associations in leading quality improvement initiatives during his tenure as AHA president from 1991 to 2006 and as the first president of the Maryland Hospital Association from 1969 to 1991.

This is a wonderful acknowledgement of the work that KHA has done in the quality area. But, it is much more than that. It is yet another example of the importance of our relationship and partnership with the Kansas Medical Society. It was through that partnership that we formed our joint quality organization—the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative. This award shines a bright light on the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative. But most importantly, this award is a direct result of the care and caring provided by Kansas hospitals' employees and physicians across the state every hour of every day.

Kansas Group Photo

Featured from left to right are: Mark Miller, Memorial Health System Abilene; Sally Othmer, KHA, Topeka; John Broberg, KHA Board, Topeka; Jennifer Koontz, MD, KHC Board Chair, Topeka; Dorothy Rice, Ransom Memorial Hospital, Ottawa; Deborah Stern, KHA, Topeka; Tom Bell, KHA, Topeka; Robert Moser, MD, Kansas Heart and Stroke Collaborative, Westwood