Health Professional Shortage Areas
Print

PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIANS | 2013

Health Professional Shortage Areas are designated by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Health Resources and Services Administration as having shortages of primary medical care, dental or mental health providers and may be geographic (a county or service area), demographic (low income population) or institutional (comprehensive health center, federally qualified health center or other public facility). Medically Underserved Areas/Populations are areas or populations designated by HRSA as having too few primary care providers, high infant mortality, high poverty and/or high elderly population.

Primary care physicians are family practice, general practice, pediatricians, OBGYNs and internal medicine. County-level physician data is published in the Kansas Health Indicators found online at www.kdheks.gov.

Download Table

 

HPSA: Health Professional Shortage Area
GEO: Health Professional Shortages for all individuals in the county
POP: Health Professional Shortages for individuals in the county who are at or below the 200% poverty level
CITY: Health Professional Shortages for individuals who live in that city.
MED. ELIG.: Health Professional Shortages for county population eligible for Medicaid.
PW: Proposed for withdrawal.
USP: United States Penetentiary

 

 SOURCE: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Office of Local and Rural Health

*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.