ICD-10
Print

ICD-10 Implementation Resources
On January 15, 2009, the Secretary of the Department of HHS released a final rule calling for the adoption of ICD-10, the 10th edition of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) standards using Clinical Modifications (CM) and the Procedure Coding System (PCS). The final rule adopts ICD-10-CM for reporting patient diagnoses and ICD-10-PCS for reporting hospital inpatient procedures - both will replace ICD-9-CM.

The use of ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS applies to all "Covered Entities," that is health plans, health care clearinghouses and health care providers that transmit electronic health information in connection with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) transaction standards. The compliance date for ICD-10 is October 1, 2014 (federal fiscal year 2015).

.

Resources:

Kansas Hospital Information Management Association

KHIMA ICD-10 Toolkit and Resources

CMS - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
CMS ICD-10 Implementation Timelines

AHA - American Hospital Association
AHA Central Office ICD-10 Resource Center

If you have questions or need additional information regarding health information technology, please contact Melissa Hungerford or Sally Perkins at (785) 233-7436.

*
*
   
For more information regarding the KHEA Educational Program, contact Donna Wills at dwills@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this webinar, contact Michele Clark at HHC at (785) 235-0763 or mclark@khconline.org.
For more information regarding the KHHRA Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KONL Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Deborah Stern (dstern@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KAHCC Educational Program, contact Jan Fenwick (jfenwick@kha-net.org or Cindy Samuelson (csamuelson@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.