HIPAA
Print

HIPAA

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 is a federal law that made many changes in employer-sponsored health plans. The law allows individuals to move from job to job without losing coverage as the result of pre-existing conditions. HIPAA guarantees access to group coverage for employees in companies with two to five employees. HIPAA also contains new requirements for the electronic transmission of health information, including security and privacy standards.

HIPAA Update Sept 2008 Communication for providers.pdf
Size: 58.56 KB
This guide explains when a health care provider is allowed to share a patient's health information with the patient's family members, friends or others identified by the patient as involved in the patient's care.
HIPAA Update Sept 2008 Communication.pdf
Size: 49.57 KB
This document contains a list of common questions about HIPAA and when health care providers may discuss or share health information with family members, friends or others involved in patient care or payment for care.
HIPAAUpdate-Oct.2003.pdf
Size: 49.34 KB
HIPAA Update, October 2003
HIPAAPrivacy RulesAddendum.pdf
Size: 133.78 KB
HIPAA Privacy Rules Addendum
HIPAAPrivacyPolicyChecklist.pdf
Size: 117.51 KB
HIPAA Privacy Policy Checklist
khahip2s.pdf
Size: 228.78 KB
HIPAA Privacy - From Rules to Tools - provided by Steve A. Schwarm, Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds & Palmer, LLP, April 2002
khahipaa.pdf
Size: 434.60 KB
HIPAA Privacy: A Practical Guide to HIPAA Privacy Regulation Compliance - provided by Steve A. Schwarm, Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds & Palmer, LLP, June 2001
*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.