RAC
Print

Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC)

The Medicare Recovery Audit Contractor program is authorized by Congress to identify improper Medicare payments - both overpayments and underpayments. RACs are paid on a contingency fee basis, receiving a percentage of the improper payments they identify and collect. Following a three-year demonstration project, the law requires the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to expand the program nationwide by 2010. The national expansion of the RACs is being introduced by region, with Kansas being slated sometime after August 2009.
Section 6411 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) expanded the Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC) program to include Medicaid.  The RAC Program’s mission is to reduce improper payments to the Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) through the efficient detection and collection of overpayments, the identification of underpayments, and the identification of actions that will assist in preventing future improper payments. The RAC contractor for the State of Kansas is HealthDataInsights.
*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.