Emergency Preparedness
Print

Emergency Preparedness

Hospitals play a key role in emergency readiness throughout Kansas. As vital community resources, hospitals must be among the best prepared, alongside police, fire, rescue, and other public safety services.

Hospital Emergency Preparedness Program

Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) administers the Individual Hospital Grants and Regional Planning Hospitals subsidies. In partnership with the KDHE, KHERF assists with the planning of the National Hospital Preparedness Program. Every hospital is eligible to apply for the Individual Hospital Grant funds, for more information on Hospital Grants and Regional Planning is located on KDHE's web-site.

Standardized Overhead/Emergency Codes

As staff often work in multiple facilities, codes that trigger emergency protective and response steps should be standardized to help insure quick action. A customizable toolkit is available:        

Emergency Preparedness Links

KHA has prepared a Mutual Aid Agreement for Kansas hospitals. Kansas community hospitals and many other health care facilities have signed statewide Mutual Aid Agreements.

Web-based Resources

Questions regarding emergency preparedness issues can be addressed to Ron Marshall at (785) 276-3125.

*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.