Emergency Preparedness
Print
Hospitals play a key role in emergency readiness throughout Kansas. As vital community resources, hospitals must be among the best prepared, alongside police, fire, rescue, and other public safety services.

Hospital Emergency Preparedness Program

Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) administers the Individual Hospital Grants and Regional Planning Hospitals subsidies. In partnership with the KDHE, KHERF assists with the planning of the National Hospital Preparedness Program. Every hospital is eligible to apply for the Individual Hospital Grant funds, for more information on Hospital Grants and Regional Planning is located on KDHE's web-site.

Standardized Overhead/Emergency Codes

As staff often work in multiple facilities, codes that trigger emergency protective and response steps should be standardized to help insure quick action. A customizable toolkit is available:        

Emergency Preparedness Links

KHA has prepared a Mutual Aid Agreement for Kansas hospitals. Kansas community hospitals and many other health care facilities have signed statewide Mutual Aid Agreements.

Web-based Resources

Questions regarding emergency preparedness issues can be addressed to Jeanie Clerico at jclerico@kha-net.org, or by calling the KHA office at (785) 233-7436.

*
*
   
For more information regarding the KHEA Educational Program, contact Donna Wills at dwills@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this webinar, contact Michele Clark at HHC at (785) 235-0763 or mclark@khconline.org.
For more information regarding the KHHRA Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KONL Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Deborah Stern (dstern@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KAHCC Educational Program, contact Jan Fenwick (jfenwick@kha-net.org or Cindy Samuelson (csamuelson@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.